Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Edit the editorials!

leave a comment »

I’m so disappointed with so-called editorials and opinion pieces these days.

When I read an editorial or an opinion piece, I want to know the stand of the author. I don’t enjoy reading cleverly or diplomatically worded articles with arguments that can swing either way. That’s not an opinion. That’s a pendulum. And if you have a pendulum, that makes you a clock.  A lot of the editorials or articles I read these days use beautiful words, but don’t leave an impression on me. I don’t take anything away from them – good or bad. When I was in school, my English teachers consistently said – have a beginning where you put forth your hypothesis, have a middle where you put forth your arguments and finally have a solid conclusion where you put forth your opinion. Unfortunately they probably didn’t have the same teachers that I did. Most opinion pieces these days merely oppose the “In thing that day”, no matter if there’s no logic to their opposition because it’s cool to do so, because it’s intellectual to do so, put forth a few moral arguments which hold no water and finally dismiss all those who disagree with them as a lynch mob, hecklers, Sanghis, bhakts etc. There was a time when we would be told to read editorials and then we’d discuss them, debate on them. Not any more.

Written by SupMM

July 31, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

