Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Post 3

with 10 comments

Is there anything more wonderful than the slash of black ink across a white sheet of paper?

I am a fountain pen fan. Most people are usually surprised to see me use a fountain pen & tell me that a ball pen is way more convenient. That maybe true, but I am a fan of the fountain pen. The heaviness of the steel body, the sharp point of the nib, the ink slashing across paper, changing the  cartridge/ dipping the pen into the ink bottle when the ink gets over, the stain of the ink on your finger when you clean the nib, the fun of the ink fights, the pages and pages of your journal filled with black ink. Fountain pens never lose their drama, their magic. I think the power of literally putting pen to paper has its own magic. A

Ballpoint pens never inspire me to write, to think, to imagine. They have no drama. They have no flair. They have no magic.  They never possessed any to begin with. Its the difference between a formal black suit & a pair of torn denims.

 

Written by SupMM

December 4, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

10 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Memories come back with the mention of “Fountain Pen”. I still have treasured the royal blue colored steel and a classic black parker with which I wrote my 10th std exams.

    And you know what there used to be these pen repair shops who would fix your tips and ink issues.. A very rare sight today. Not to forget the super shayari written ” Syahi aur Kalam”

    Even these gel pens can’t match the aura and the feel that a fountain used to give. Such a wonderful post this is.. Super super super like.

    Destiny's Child

    December 4, 2012 at 3:16 pm

  2. Loved the way you have described the elegance and flair of a fountain pen. It brought back memories from school which was the last time I ever used one 🙂 Welcome to the blogathon!!

    Simran

    December 4, 2012 at 3:30 pm

    • Thanks Simran!!!! I love reading about NZ. That’s one place I really want to visit sometime. Its on my bucketlist

      SupMM

      December 4, 2012 at 4:39 pm

  3. I absolutely love fountain pens too – I treasured one gifted by my dad for over 10 yrs and then it went missing when I moved countries. I still get sad thinking about that.

    Life Begins

    December 4, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    • Hi & welcome to my blog 🙂

      My dad had gifted me a lovely pen too when I started working. Unfortunately I also lost it somewhere. I feel your pain.

      On another note,dads think so alike don’t they. My husband also got gifted a pen by his father which he still has

      SupMM

      December 4, 2012 at 4:39 pm

  4. Nice one :). You make me want to go out and buy one now, so many old memories, how we used to vie for that “Hero” pen especially.

    Aparna

    December 4, 2012 at 10:56 pm

    • Go go buy! I remember those Chinese pens too. Used them all through school

      SupMM

      December 5, 2012 at 7:27 pm

  5. I was a fan too…Well given a chance I would pick it up again. I have lost of many of them in the past that I had to start cheating on them with cheap ball points and now pencils. Life!!

    pinksocks

    December 5, 2012 at 10:42 am

    • Try again! This is exactly why I used a use & throw ballpoint pen for ages till I bought a cheap fountain pen from Reynolds. Switched to a Sheffer now

      SupMM

      December 5, 2012 at 7:26 pm


Leave a Reply

