Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Blogging Challenge: Day 27

with 6 comments

For me music is not something I can not not live without, unlike books. However, after staying in a hostel I got used to studying with some light music playing softly in the background to drown out ambient noises and that’s something which continues till date. When the Hujband is travelling, I switch on the television or plug in my ipod into the dock the moment I enter. There are many night when I am waiting for the Hujband to come home (he usually takes the last flight back which lands around  midnight & he reaches home around 1-1:30 am) and a book, a cup of hot chocolate & some music are giving me company. I enjoy music which to me is music – which sounds good to me & not one which gives me a headache. I listen to old English numbers – like Abba, Elvis Presley, Beegees, Boney M & John Denver, or old Hindi movie songs. As I grow older wiser, I find my tastes have expanded to include Hindustani classical music & Sufi as well. When I was a kid, my mother was very keen that I learn music and she did send me for a few classes, but I dropped out because I didn’t enjoy it at all then. I find myself vaguely recalling raagas now and want to read up on it so I can appreciate it so much more. I had also started learning guitar at a point in time when I needed a diversion & just something to do, but I quit again. I regret it now. I hope to able to get back to my guitar soon. For now I leave you with a few of all my alltime favourites.

‘Annie’s Song’ by John Denver – The Hujband had once serenaded me with  it over the phone to me before we got married.

‘How Deep is your love’ by Beegees

‘La Isla Bonita’ – Madonna

‘Tanha Dil’ by Shaan – I heard this song when I was in my last year in school and fell in love with the lyrics – ‘Aankhon mein sapne liye ghar se hum chal to diye, jaane yeh raahein ab le jayengi kahan’

Khwaja mere Khwaja’ – From the movie Jodha Akbar

There’s another song titled ‘Seekon na nainon ki bhasha piya‘ by Shubha Mudgal but I couldn’t find a clear video/ audio of the song online. Mad Momma gave me a link. Ignore video, listen to the audio.

 

 

 

This track from Bhopal Express by Ila Arun.

Written by SupMM

May 31, 2011 at 1:03 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. When I am alone at home… music always does play in the background… just has a comforting feeling.

    Aathira

    May 31, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    • I know what you mean. The silence gets overwhelming sometimes

      SupMM

      May 31, 2011 at 2:59 pm

  2. Will this do? http://youtu.be/n5YXeIJN5qk. The video isn’t good but the audio seems okay.

    The Mad Momma

    May 31, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    • Oh yes. The video is shaky but I love the song. Thanks:)

      SupMM

      May 31, 2011 at 3:00 pm

  3. I love music its always on for me and the current obessision is coke studio

    monikamanchanda

    May 31, 2011 at 10:44 pm


Leave a Reply

