Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Blogging Challenge: Day 19

with 6 comments

My in-laws got back from the village yesterday (my FIL has his ancestral home in Dharamshala).

MIL returned with 40 kgs of fresh chakki ka aata [gehu (wheat) picked and dried in the sun & then ground at the chakki], 10 kgs of rice [dhan cleaned & picked straight from the khet (farm)], 15 kgs of onions and some 4 kgs of garlic – also straight from the khet.   I am so used to buying onions and garlic from the local vegetable store, but one taste of the onions from the khet and I was completely floored. The onions have such a lovely sweet taste as does the garlic. I could instantly feel the difference in taste between the food from the village & that from my local store. I don’t feel like eating rotis made from the Aashirwaad aata now (and I just opened a 5 kg pack) and am planning to give some of it to my maids, and donate some at the mandir, just so I can get started on the lovely yummm-smelling chakki ka aata (which reminds me I also need to buy a huuuuuuuuge container to store 20 kgs of aata). I also plan to switch over to the unpolished rice, which I have been told is way healthier than our polished rice (the basmati cannot be abandoned like the aata :P).

MIL also gifted me two lovely benarsi saris which had belonged to her MIL (one is from her trousseau). Photos shall be up soon 🙂

Written by SupMM

May 23, 2011 at 6:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. looking forward to the saree photos I agree with the freshness bit u said everytime we come back from N’s village for somedays we dont feel like eating anything bought from the city

    monikamanchanda

    May 23, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  2. Tell me about it. The food from there has a completely different smell and taste

    SupMM

    May 23, 2011 at 6:44 pm

  3. benarsi saree sounds awsum…:)…loads of love to MIL for itna saara aatta,pyaaz and lehsun..:)…the taurus is me is delighted at the very thought of it..:D

    forgottogrowup

    May 24, 2011 at 12:06 am

  4. Mere desk ki khusboo!!! i say that when i go to punjab.. the veggies, the milk etc all taste better there..

    Iya Bhatia Malhotra

    May 24, 2011 at 11:45 am

    • I so agree. Khaana tastes so much better there 🙂

      SupMM

      May 24, 2011 at 8:33 pm


Leave a Reply

