Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Blogging Challenge: Day 18

with 12 comments

My name is Supriya. Yes I know,most of you know that, but this post is about my name.

Supriya means  greatly beloved (Su+Priya). Apparently, people with this name tend to be natural leaders, self-sufficient, and ambitious. They generally want to make their own decisions in life and are not afraid to take charge or manage a situation. It is important for them to avoid extremes of bossiness or shyness. They tend to be too impulsive. Professionally, they can be successful in political leadership, celebrity status, or as a small business owner.

When I was a kid just learning to talk (and my mother says that’s one thing I learnt really well), I couldn’t pronounce my own name. I used to go around introducing myself as “My name is Chhhupppaaa”. My parents seriously considered changing my name, but I finally learnt how to pronounce my name correctly, much to their relief (they took quite a while in finalising my name). When I started going to school, I didn’t like my name at all for some funny reason and when we moved to Bombay (I was then in Class III), my mom suggested I simply introduce myself as ‘Priya’. However, there was already a Priya in my class when I joined, so I remained Supriya. By the time we moved to Calcutta three years later, I was quite okay with my name. Among my close friends, there are very few who call me Supriya. My closest friend calls me ‘Soup’ and most of the others call me Sup/ Sups. I got called Sups pretty much all through college as well.

Thankfully, my parents gave me a smart non-filmy pan-Indian name, unlike friends whose names are  ‘Charulata’ or “Mona’ (Mona Darling anyone?). I also knew a guy whose name is ‘Dipti’. My name is not a very common name either thankfully. I’d have hated to have a very common name (we had 4 Nehas in my class in school).  My parents thankfully also did not succumb to the Bong tradition of giving me some unpronounceable name which would rival that of some Welsh village :p

So how do you like your name?

Written by SupMM

May 23, 2011 at 5:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. sigh dont even say anything abt mona or monika ohh my darling I have hated my name all my life sigh

    monikamanchanda

    May 23, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    • Ah I remember asking you on twitter about his once :p

      SupMM

      May 23, 2011 at 6:27 pm

  2. Ofcourse I hated my name! Who wants to be called “meerabai” or “Kheera” as a kid? Then I discoverd that my name had a lovely meaning, “Prosperity”, which no one knew about. I guess that salvaged it 😀

    Meira

    May 23, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    • Really? I didn’t know Meira meant ‘prosperity’ as well. Even I only knew of the Meerabai thing 😛

      SupMM

      May 23, 2011 at 10:34 pm

    • rofl@ kheera…:D..Meira is a wonfderful name..:)…

      forgottogrowup

      May 24, 2011 at 12:03 am

      • Yup and I like how she spells it slightly differently. Most people spell it ‘Meera’

        SupMM

        May 24, 2011 at 10:30 am

  3. My name is Deepti. I was pretty much ok with my name till the time i went to Chennai, and became deept”h”i..:O..and suddenly i realised that half of the girls down south are Deepthi…:O…Anyway, back north, but i guess, mine is not the uniquest of name…but still ok with it..:D
    PS: u have given me fodder for a post..:)

    forgottogrowup

    May 23, 2011 at 7:13 pm

    • oooh post soon and I shall come read :0

      Btw read some of your posts but couldn’t comment. I see your in Gurgaon too 🙂

      SupMM

      May 23, 2011 at 10:33 pm

  4. Aparajita.. That’s my name.. Nobody I know is able to pronounce my name, sometimes not even bongs.. I hav always been called Aps/Apu.. Everyone in Mumbai/Pune thinks that its A-Prajakta, a variation of the common Maharashtrain name Prajakta.. My badminton coach called me Anamika for all three yrs of camp.. 🙂
    Well, u can see that ur post has touched a chord somewhere.. I don’t care abt the aberrations much anymore, yet somehow I am very touchy abt it..

    P.S. Supriya is a very nice name.. Just the right mix of rarity and commonality.. 🙂

    Aparajita

    May 23, 2011 at 11:44 pm

    • Aparajita is such a lovely name. I didn’t realise it would be so hard to pronounce for Bongs as well.

      If someone mis-pronounces my name, I am very stubborn about it. I stand there making him repeat it till he gets it right. A friend of mine whose name is ‘Karun’ is resigned to being called ‘Karan’ by his boss pf the past 2 years too 😛

      PS: Thanks. Like I said the best part is that its a pan-Indian name. You will find a Supriya everywhere – east, west, north or south 🙂

      SupMM

      May 24, 2011 at 10:42 am

  5. I love my name.. let me do a post on it.. thanks for the idea 🙂

    Iya Bhatia Malhotra

    May 24, 2011 at 12:00 pm


Leave a Reply

