Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Blogging Challenge: Day 16

with 4 comments

Okay I had no idea what to post today. Monica’s tag rescued me. Thanks Mon 😉

1. The list contains all the states of India and their capitals are in brackets.

2. Make bold the states you have visited, and mention your favourite memories of that state.

3. Include only states that you have really experienced, and have felt the culture of the place. The touch-and-go while travelling in a train does not count, because that way I believe I’d have seen a little more, but it does not give me a feel of the place and so they need to be actually visited.

1. Jammu & Kashmir (Jammu/Srinagar): Nada. Never been to J & K 😦

2. Punjab (Chandigarh): Quite a few visits here. I made my first visit in 1999 on a school trip and thereafter several times on work, and twice for weddings of various friends. I really enjoy the shopping at Sector 17 😛

3. Haryana (Chandigarh): Ummm refer to Point No. 3 😛

 4.  Himachal Pradesh (Shimla) : I have been to Shimla only once on a school trip (yes the same one where I went to Chandigarh for the first time).  Imagine 35 girls away from home for the first time ever, lots of midnight coffees and antakshari sessions, lots of good memories.

5. Uttaranchal (Dehradun): I haven’t ever been to Dehradoon, though I have had fudge from there. Does that count?

6. Rajasthan (Jaipur): My first visit to Jaipur was on a work trip. I made another trip later with the Hujband on our first anniversary. We roamed all over the famous Amer fort and the city. I fell in love with the food.

7. Uttar Pradesh (Lucknow): I haven”t been to Lucknow yet, but have had lots of links with it. Two of my closest friends from college are from Lucknow, my sister is now married and based in Lucknow, the Hujband’s very close friend from school is also in Lucknow, so I think a trip needs to be made soon – at least for the kebabs and the lovely chikenkari 😛

8. Bihar (Patna): Bad memories only. I only went to Patna once, this was soon after my dad got transferred to Cal and we were just settling in when we got news that my maternal grandfather had passed away suddenly while visiting my uncle in Patna and had to rush for the last rites. Nope no good memories at all. It was the first time I ever saw my mom cry.

9. Jharkhand (Ranchi) – One of my closest friends from hostel is from Jamshedpur.

10. West Bengal (Kolkata): Home sweet home. Need I say more?

11. Orissa  (Bhubaneswar): A trip made there long back when my uncle was posted there. He was fresh out of IIT and in his first job and we had stopped to visit him on our way to Cal. I remember lots of heat, lots of trips in the sun and roaming around the Sun Temple & the beach in Puri.

12. Sikkim (Gangtok): On the list of my to-visit places. After college, a bunch of us had planned a trip, but it fell through when our joining dates were advanced 😦

13. Arunachal Pradesh (Itanagar)

14. Assam (Dispur)

15. Tripura (Agartala)

16. Nagaland (Kohima)

17. Mizoram (Aizawl)

18. Manipur (Imphal)

19. Meghalaya (Shillong)

I haven’t been to the North-East, and do hope to make it there some day. I have heard its absolutely beautiful and untouched there.

20. Madhya Pradesh (Bhopal): Does an omlette sandwich on the station count?

21. Chattisgarh (Raipur)

22. Gujarat (Gandhinagar): I just made a trip to Ahmedabad on work and will need to make a couple of trips more in the months to come. This was only a one-day trip where I flew out the same evening. I hope to explore the city some more on my next visits and pick up a beautiful gujarati choli from there. And since, Ahmedabad is only 30 kms from Gandhinagar, its got to count right?

23. Maharashtra (Mumbai): I just captured my memories of Bombay here.   

24. Goa (Panjim):  The Hujband and me went to Goa on our honeymoon. We stayed in Mapusa but we did visit Panjim. And of course, it being my honeymoon I do have some lovely memories 😛

25. Andhra Pradesh (Hyderabad ): I started my schooling in Vishakaptanam and have lovely memories of Vishakapatnam. I visited Hyderabad for the first time earlier this eyar in March for a friend’s wedding and we stayed a couple of days to visit my cousin there. I felll in laouuuuu with the biryani there 🙂

26. Tamil Nadu (Chennai): A city I have never been to though the Hujband does travel there often on work.

27. Karnataka (Bengaluru): I visited Bangalore with my family in 2000 and remember my uncle taking me to Kemp’s Corner. Since we didn’t have such shops in Kolkata at that time, my mom told me to go ahead and pick something for myself, so being a very fashion-conscious 17 year old, I told  the salesperson I was from Kolkata and asked him to show me the latest fashion and the guy very smartly showed me the latest range of tops with Shantiniketan print for an expensive 500 bucks. My mom and me couldn’t stop giggling and told the guy I could pick up the same thing from the streets in Cal for 100 bucks. The guy said he would be right back disappeared and my mom bought me a lovely silver heart shaped pendant instead.

28. Kerala (Thiruvananthapuram): Does Kochi count?

29. Delhi : Born here, spent my initial months here and now back here again 🙂

There’s alot of India I am yet to visit. Come on people invite me 😛

Written by SupMM

May 19, 2011 at 11:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. time to visit blore again this time I’ll take u to places 🙂

    monikamanchanda

    May 20, 2011 at 8:32 am

    • Yes Mon. I have to come eat a meal cooked by you 🙂

      SupMM

      May 23, 2011 at 6:44 pm

  2. Only capitals count? cant talk about other cites one might have been to in the state?

    Iya Bhatia Malhotra

    May 21, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    • The tag said capitals only

      SupMM

      May 23, 2011 at 6:29 pm


Leave a Reply

