Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Blogging Challenge: Day 10

with 4 comments

There are some  movies I have watched n number of times. I know the dialogues of all the characters and will watch it everytime it comes on tv. Let me see if I can list a few:

1) Kaho Na Pyar Hai – I llllovvvveee this movie. This was the begining of my love story with Hrithik Roshan. This is a true Mills & Boon style movie with the cliched rich spoilt brat herione, poor orphaned hero bringing up his younger brother, smuggler father, the mysterious ‘Sirji’, death of the hero and the love-sick heroine coming across a conveniently-rich lookalike who falls truly, madly, deeply in love with her and helps her find the murderer of the poor guy.

2) Lakshya– Which is coincidentally what I am watching and which inspired this post. I love the way this movie shows the evolution of Hrithik (yes again) from a typical spoilt-brat Dilliwala teen to finding his identity as an army officer and coming of age. During exam times, I often used to have the OST of this movie playing. It gave me energy and inspiration to not  give up.

3) Kuch Kuch Hota Hai – The friendship between Shahrukh & Kajol, the entrance of Rani into the equation bringing about a love triangle, Miss Briganza and her short skirts, Mr. Malhotra the hapless principal, the little girl who played Shahrukh’s daughter, the loving relationship between the grandmother & grandchild, the summer camp which seemed to be straight out of an Enid Blyton book.

4) Golmaal – The original one with Amol Palekar and Utpal Dutt and one of my alltime favourite songs ‘Aanewala Pal’. Need I even tell you why this movie? You have to watch it to believe the madness. Noone. I repeat Noone can do comedy like Utpal Dutt.

5) Dil Chahta Hai – I wonder how many trips to Goa did this movie inspire. This is the story of three friends – very different individuals and the best of friends. A line posken in jest creates a rift between two of them, but when the going gets tough they are there for each other. This movie had the  immortal dialogue “Cake khaane ke liye hum kahin bhi jaane ko tayya hai”. This was also the first movie I bunked college to watch.

6)  Jaane Bhi Do Yaaron – A satire on the bureaucracy, corruption, media and business in India set in the 80s. Naseeruddin Shah and Ravi Baswani as the photographers scooping for a break are a class apart and you have to watch the Mahabharat scene in the movie if you ever need a good laugh. No matter how many times I have seen it, I still crack up.

7) Amar Akbar Anthony – This was a movie which established the cliches – the brothers separated at birth and reunited as adults, the three brothers brought up as a Hindu, Muslim & a Christian, the smugglers and gold biscuits of the 70s, the blind mother, the tyrant father who opposed young love and had eunuchs set upon him with the hero threatening to reveal the father’s deep dirty secret (“Taiyyab Ali pyar ka dushman”), the father recognising his son when he takes out a childhood toy from a long forgotten hidden hole in his childhood home, the scene where a drunk Amitabh bandages his reflection in the mirror, the evil stepmother & stepbrother forcing a young girl to seek a lift and loot travelers on a lonely road and being rescued by a cop who promptly falls in love with her.

8) Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jayenge – This movie set the bar for teenage romances. “Aise bade bade deshon mein mein aisi choti choti baatein hoti rehti hai”.

9) 3 Idiots – Why? Because “All izzz wellll”.

10) Aisha – The clothes, Abhay Deol and Sonam Kapoor. Period.

For all my fellow NaBloPoMo-ers, if you need inspiration for a post, tell me which are the ten movies you can and do watch again and again and again and again…you get the point don’t you?

PS: I haven’t gone into the English & Bengali movies here in case I need inspiration for another post 😛

Written by SupMM

May 13, 2011 at 11:43 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. This post reminded me of the Hrithik Roshan poster on your door! 😀 😛

    Buli

    May 14, 2011 at 1:29 am

    • Oh yeah!!!That huge almost life-sized one 😛

      SupMM

      May 18, 2011 at 5:05 pm

  2. :), my husband is a Lakshya fan. He watches it everytime it comes on TV. I like the movie, but he echoes ur thoughts, he finds Hrithiks character very very well defined and interesting. Infact he calls me Hrithik, when i am usually found roaming about aimless, and making huge plans…plans only..no execution…:D

    And, thanks, u provided fodder for next post for this blogger challenge…:)

    forgottogrowup

    May 16, 2011 at 11:45 pm

    • Oh yeah I keep oscillating between the two Hrithiks myself 😛

      Looking forward to read your post 🙂

      SupMM

      May 18, 2011 at 5:06 pm


Leave a Reply

