Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Blogging Challenge: Day 3

with 11 comments

Today I will talk about teamwork and cooperation in the workplace.

In my last workplace, I had an amazing team of colleagues and I stuck on there for a longtime because I knew I wouldn’t get the same atmosphere and team-spirit elsewhere. Maybe that’s why, I often feel the lack of adequate team spirit and team bonding in my new workplace. Though I do have a fairly good set of friends here now, we don’t work together on a daily basis, except when legal input is required. The colleagues that I do currently work with on a daily basis are spread across the country, which means we use e-mail and phones to coordinate. Despite the geographical issues, I often feel the lack of team spirit or cooperation. For instance, a colleague sent me the draft version of a document and not the final to work on further, which obviously caused a negative reaction when sent out to the other party, and my colleague apologised profusely. I would understand if this happened once, but such incidents are what I have to handle on a regular basis. I ensure that after all my calls, I record the minutes of the conversation by way of an e-mail with a cc to the senior. This takes up a fair amount of time everyday, and have also resulted in some e-mail wars, but this is the only way to ensure that my colleagues don’t trip me up again. I have actually attached delivery and read receipts and sent them when he has stated that he has not received/ seen a particular mail.

This creates a negative atmosphere when I have to interact with him and I have also brought this to the notice of my senior a couple of times. I don’t like to tell tales and run to the senior, but I will also not take things lying down. Is it very naive to think that we work for the same organisation and bat for the same team. If we cooperate with each other, that will lead to better team-spirit increasing our efficiency and not wasting a significant amount of time of in-fighting. Hell, we may even get a bonus 😛

What’s your take on it?

Written by SupMM

May 6, 2011 at 4:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

11 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hell, I miss my bonus and best rating waley days.. Sigh!

    Tara

    May 6, 2011 at 5:02 pm

    • Barring the pay cheque coming in on the 1st of the month, I wouldn’t miss the rest :p

      SupMM

      May 7, 2011 at 11:07 am

  2. ahan not bad…u r doin pretty well in this competition.

    Ria

    May 6, 2011 at 5:36 pm

    • Well, ya I wouldn’t want to let you down Ria 😛

      SupMM

      May 7, 2011 at 11:08 am

  3. hmmm. about time you used some sort of document management program. like google docs?

    aditya

    May 6, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    • We use a common tracker on excel which is updated everyday and circulated to the bosses, but nonetheless confusion does happen sometimes

      SupMM

      May 7, 2011 at 11:09 am

  4. Ya i knwo what u mean…going through that for few months now.And i hate to be in such situations. But what can we do. Sit back and get the punches – nah!

    I just try to reply as sweetly as i can or send a totally new email without replying to one which is annoying. Believe me – helps! It takes attention off

    Bharti

    May 6, 2011 at 5:55 pm

  5. I guess when you’re working in a team, small glitches will happen. Here’s to overcoming all and getting that bonus! 🙂

    mystic margarita

    May 7, 2011 at 8:26 am

    • Well yes let’s hope so, fingers crossed 😛

      SupMM

      May 7, 2011 at 11:10 am

  6. sigh its really important to have a good team I hate when I dont gel with my team but u seem to be doing good for urself

    monikamanchanda

    May 7, 2011 at 11:39 am

  7. I have learnt the same in the hard way and the people who refused to acknowledge my inputs and suggestions were seniors and I was indirectly blamed for it. I was livid. Sometimes I miss working in a firm where you only have deliver to your Client and please your Partner.(Of course an ogre of a Partner can ruin your life too.) In a company with such a complicated hierachy most of the times I am trying to balance all fronts out and trying to make sure everybody reaches to a consensus and it is an arduous task. Hmmphhhh!

    Utopia

    May 7, 2011 at 11:55 am


Leave a Reply

