Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Getting over a one & half month weekend!!!

with 8 comments

We have some news people….we return to the world of the earning & employed tomorrow. We are no longer the Great Unemployed from 13.09.2010 onwards. My one and half month weekend comes to an end. Getting severe Monday morning blues. Also a little bit of excitement & nervousness in equal parts. There is the excitement of joining somewhere new – new challenges, new people, a fresh start. There is also the nervousness of moving out of my comfort zone, moving into a whole different setup from what I am used to, the expected politics, leading a new team, the people etc.

I am glad I took this time out for myself and regained some of what I had lost out working crazy hours and practically no weekends. It took a severe toll on my health, apart from the fact that I had not had a proper break of more than 4-5 days at a stretch. I spent some good time with my parents in Calcutta and when I got back to Gurgaon, I came down with a regular cold & cough which left me feeling extremely weak & listless, despite the rest and care that I took.  It took me quite a while to bounce back. I see another friend of mine who has been put on a compulsory 2 week bed rest by the doctors because her body has completely broken down from the stress, work pressure & long irregular hours. I don’t want to be there at the age of 27. I spent lots of time with the Hujband. And I learnt that being sincere towards one’s work always pays in the long run but there is a line I need to draw somewhere between work & life. I have enjoyed this period of doing aboslutely nothing & whiling away days. I did some bit of cooking but mostly spent time with myself. I think I am my own best company. Yes I know that sounds narcisstic. But its a fact. It took some courage to quit my job without another job in hand. But i didn’t regret it for even one moment. (Except the part where I couldn’t shop as I had to cut down on my frivolous expenditure).

The Hujband took me out to celebrate the day I signed the papers. I also shopped finally after ages. I bought two t-shirts & two formal shirts. Oh! And neither of the shirts are white or black & white. I have no idea what non-formal Indian formals are like. I have only bought white/ black & white suits for the past four years. Currently my entire work  wear is black & white. I am looking forward to wearing coloured formals. And having a 5 day week. And regular working hours. We rounded off the super long month & half weekend with a rocking party to bring in the Hujband’s 33rd birthday. Or as he puts it he is 16 years old with 17 years experience 😛

So its back to work for me tomorrow.

 

Written by SupMM

September 12, 2010 at 8:36 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hey congrats n all the best for the new job. 🙂 So what is ur job going to be like!?

    Ria

    September 13, 2010 at 10:09 am

    • Thanks Ria. The job is obviously in the Legal Department of the company 🙂

      supmm

      September 18, 2010 at 11:33 am

  2. Congrats Supps!!! Hope you enjoy your ‘return’ as much as you did your mini sabbatical 🙂

    Pallavi

    September 13, 2010 at 1:26 pm

    • Trying hard to….the first week was bad. I was so tired when I got home 😛

      supmm

      September 18, 2010 at 11:35 am

  3. Congrats on new job and coloured formals.

    PS: I like your husband’s outlook to age… I should keep this in mind.

    Aathira

    September 13, 2010 at 3:50 pm

    • Thanks Aathira…I shall tell the Hujband his approach to his age has beeen appreciated 😛

      supmm

      September 18, 2010 at 11:36 am

  4. Congratulations! 🙂 Good luck with the new job. And pliss to be telling your hujband I think “16 with 17 years experience” is really funny 😀

    DewdropDream

    September 14, 2010 at 3:39 pm

    • Thanks babe…and have to tell the Hujband his approach to age has been highly appreciated 😛

      supmm

      September 18, 2010 at 11:39 am


Leave a Reply

