Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Sue Me!!! I Am Selfish!!!

with 12 comments

Ever since I have decided to take a sabbatical, I have had people wondering about whether we’r starting a family and if we are, then getting upset because we haven’t told them about it. I have had random people message me, ping me on FB and call me to ask how many months along am I. How weird and how rude is that? They jumped to their own conclusions and think its rude when I get offended. What strated as a joke has snowballed into something else all together. How difficult is is to understand that I have taken some time off for myself – to sleep, eat, cook, bake, read, write, do up my house, take driving lessons, learn a new language. I know most people don’t generally take some time off right when their career starts peaking, but I did it. I was kind of freaked out at thinking I hadn’t really done anything new since I started working. I don’t have kids right now. I do nothing all day if I so choose or I maybe a whirlwind doing twenty things in one day. And no I haven’t taken time off to get pregnant either. The Hujband tells me to enjoy this time because we don’t know when I would ever get time off like this.

If that is selfish, then yes I am selfish. Sue me.

Written by SupMM

September 3, 2010 at 10:25 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Crazy people! That is super rude to ask how many months along you are! And their nerve to think it funny that you are getting offended!

    After I got married, I didn’t get back to working for almost 6 months, by then almost everyone had assumed I am gonna be a housewife!!! I was furious when they started hinting that.

    Aathira

    September 3, 2010 at 10:30 am

    • Oh God I can totally understand that. When I went to spend time with my family alot of people jumped to conclusions about my marriage because I had quit my job & gone to Cal. What? I can’t even spend time with my parents because I am married?

      supmm

      September 3, 2010 at 10:42 am

  2. Don’t bother abt such ppl!! Although i found it very weird too, but u cant really blame these ppl u know. Coz i India its very unlikely of someone to take a sabbatical to do something new. Ppl here love to be stuck in a rut and hence they crib that their life is going no where yet they continue what they r doing. So i suggest just give them a smug look & enjoy what u r doing at the moment. 🙂

    My much required sabbatical will be coming soon too!! Cant wait for it to happen.

    Ria

    September 3, 2010 at 10:39 am

    • Awesome…we shall sabbatical together babe and give it right back to those smog idiots 😛

      supmm

      September 3, 2010 at 10:58 am

  3. Oh yeah, you either have to be medically ill OR have some ‘good news’, otherwise people don’t normally understand that some folks can indeed consciously take a career break.

    Psst…. Btw how many months, Supps? LOL! I meant, how many months of break were you planning? 😉

    Pallavi

    September 3, 2010 at 11:39 am

    • Well 1 month down so far 2nd month starting Pal 🙂

      supmm

      September 4, 2010 at 11:28 am

  4. show them the hand. read between the lines. how good are u at driving now? did u play need for speed yet?

    Aditya Sanyal

    September 3, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    • Nope no stupid games for me. I prefer to sleep and eat 😛

      supmm

      September 9, 2010 at 6:41 pm

  5. Agree. It’s rude for them to assume.

    You’re married and you have no kids. If you and your husband are on the same page, who cares? You only get one life, and sometimes it’s just fine to be selfish.

    wittywife

    September 3, 2010 at 11:37 pm

    • That’s exactly what I think as well. Its my life and if I choose to spend sometime whiling it away that’s my choice.

      supmm

      September 9, 2010 at 6:42 pm

  6. Pity it isn’t lawful to reply by giving such people a resouning whack on their empty-husk heads. Bah.

    DewdropDream

    September 9, 2010 at 5:04 pm

    • I agree..maybe we should petition for it 😛

      supmm

      September 9, 2010 at 6:43 pm


Leave a Reply

