Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

My Sins Against Gender

with 5 comments

I have been a bad bad blogger and yet my friends (Pallavi, Meira and Parama) are kind enough to remember me and tag me. Gawd bless everyone with such kind friends. My excuse is going to last for just another week and then I shall be FREE. FREE. FREE. In a perverted way, its good to know I will be missed when I’m no longer with this organization. My boss has told to reconsider; my peers are pretty upset with me and my juniors just don’t know who will correct their drafts. One and all…they came to me to get their drafts checked. I have a farewell lunch at work on 23rd and my colleagues have party plans for 24th. The Wife of one of the partners sent food for the entire office because I requested her to make something before I go. I am frankly a little bit overwhelmed.


Now for my sins against gender:

1) Well I am a lawyer. That was always considered to be a manly profession. Even today, there are often male advocates who look at me in horror and say “Madam, you will argue the matter?”  or the judge asks me to call my senior. Some of the advocates take it very personally when they lose a case to a female advocate btw. YES EVEN TODAY.

I don’t think I am less than any of the men at work and have 4 guys who used to report to me. Umm well they’r reporting to me till the 24th at least.

2) I hated playing with dolls. I disfigured them, broke them used them as digging tools when I was 5 and basically otrtured them as one would have probably tortured a prisoner of war.

3) As a kid, I climbed trees, swung from branches, built a tree house and was basically well on my way to becoming a monkey.

4) I used to love riding my cycle and have innumerable scars on my knees to prove that.

5) I was the quintessential tomboy as a kid. I hated wearing skirts & frocks. I used to only wear shorts and play with the boys. We would jump over the walls and race on our cycles and push each other off the diving boards and clamber over the jungle gyms.  Till date I can’t wear anything frilly or lacey (including  an ahem ahem…).

6) I refused to learn cooking until I got married.

7) I hate needlepoint and would rather pay the local tailor ten bucks to fix the hem than do it myself.

8) I have a really loud voice for a female and I just can’t talk in an affected cultivated damsel-in-distress type voice. I get irritated when women say “Oh, but how will I do this?” and turn to the guys. I used to carry my own suitcase during all the train journeys to and fro my college years.

9) I can give as good as I get. I totally believe in the “eye for an eye” philosophy and its often the Hujband who has to calm me down. Any errant two wheeler crosses our path and I’m the first one to roll down the window and scream at the guy to go committ suicide, but not under my car.

10) I don’t think I am in any way less than a son for my parents. If my Hujband is expected to take care of his parents because he is their son, I will also be taking care of my parents because I am their child. And he understands that totally.

11) I really really enjoy cricket. I don’t watch it because of Rahul Dravid or Dhoni. I watch it because I understand and enjoy the game (Not anymore though with all these  IPL matches and the innumerable Champion & Triseries which keep happening every other day).

12) I need my space. I cannot compromise on that.

13) I don’t like housework. I hate dusting, cleaning the house, putting pretty flowers in vases (I think flowers look best on the branches and not in a vase dunked in water with an aspirin for company to keep them fresh longer). I hate filling up bottles. I’d rather be lazing around watching a movie than be folding the clothes on a Sunday.

14) After a hard day at work, I have often returned home to find that the Hujband has cooked a lovely steaming hot meal for me and out the roti-subzi in the fridge to be taken in the dabba the next day. I don’t see anything wrong in it. You will also often find me watching a movie while he does the cleaning up. We don’t see anything wrong it it. Its his house also after all. neither of us take the other for granted.

15) I find it difficult to take money from the Hujband. A gift is a different issue, even when I was working he’d give me a few thousands once in a while and I’d take it. But not otherwise. if I take money from him or my parents, I will return it.

16) On a Sunday morning, its the Hujband who get up early and does the cleaning, deals with the dhobi & the garbageman while I sleep.

These are my sins against the gender. I don’t say that I am a man stuck in a woman’s body either. I love shopping, gossiping, it actually gives me pleasure to cook something which enjoy people eating (well so does my Hujband). I love shoes and have some 60 odd pairs. I am 100% female when it comes to letting my emotions out and crying.

Written by SupMM

July 17, 2010 at 6:35 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. high five.
    rofl at “roll down the window and scream at the guy to go committ suicide, but not under my car.”

    Meira

    July 18, 2010 at 5:10 pm

  2. woohoooo! Atta girl! 😀

    Utopia

    July 18, 2010 at 7:36 pm

  3. Loved the post!! and the 1st point was so good!!

    Ria

    July 18, 2010 at 7:45 pm

  4. Awesome Supps!!! You’ve done full justice to the tag, and am proud of you, esp for ‘finding housework boring’ 🙂 Same pinch 😉

    Pallavi

    July 19, 2010 at 4:44 am

  5. stand up and applaud specially at 60 pairs of shoes 😉

    monikamanchanda

    July 27, 2010 at 5:31 pm


Leave a Reply

