Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Bura Na Mano Holi Hai

with 12 comments

I was headed out of my office to the car park and was discussing something intently with my colleague when suddenly we hear a PHAT!! And another PHAT!!! And realized a couple of water balloons had been aimed by the kid next door. My colleague’s light grey trousers were splattered  with coloured water. The kid immediately ran inside his house. We went and rang the door bell. Noone opened the door but his father came to the balcony and asked us what happened. So we told him that his son was throwing water balloons and it had narrowly missed us. And all he had to say was “Bura na mano holi hai. Yeh to hota hi hai. bachche to khelenge hi.” (Don’t get upset, its holi. All this happens. Kids will play). I asked him if I could slap him and get away with “Bura na mano holi hai”. He had nothing to say for that. I asked him what if his son threw a balloon on someone who is driving a car or riding a two-wheeler and caused an accident. His son isin’t a little kid anymore but is old enough to now understand this. We had to leave then because we were getting late and my friend would have to now buy a new trouser as well as she couldn’t go for a meeting in her colour splattered trousers. And we promised to send him the bill.

I have also played holi as a kid and I still play. But it is only in Delhi have I seen that people throw balloons randomly at strangers and passers-by. I fail to understand what is the fun in this. I was a pretty naughty kid myself but had the sense not to throw it at random people. The one and only time I did something like this, it landed on my dad’s friend who was in his white naval uniform. I was lucky it only had water in it and not coloured water. My parents  however, were anything but amused. I have seen kids here throw it on the delivery boys on their 2 wheelers or at drivers (including a few on a bus driver who was driving at that time) which can cause a serious accident. Don’t their parents ever think of that?

I don’t mean to be the Grinch who stole Holi but I don’t understand why the playing cannot be restricted to friends and families and not innocent passers by. But I still don’t think that Holi gives anyone the license to misbeahve.

Read Chandu’s Holi trauma tale here.

Written by SupMM

February 26, 2010 at 10:22 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

12 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Don;t forget to send him the bill for the new trousers. The nasty nasty man!

    Meira

    February 26, 2010 at 10:57 am

    • We did.Payment still awaited though 😛

      supmm

      March 3, 2010 at 10:09 am

  2. I’d get someone to spit paan daily on his walls. bura na maano holi hai. passive aggression is sort of funny.

    Aditya

    February 26, 2010 at 1:44 pm

    • Why would I stoop to the same level? And besides its holi time so they think they can do what they want for these few days – its not all through the year

      supmm

      March 3, 2010 at 10:09 am

  3. u know what dear its the attitude of the parents that encourages the kids… i commented on chandu’s blog too saying the same thing I blame the parents and no one else

    kids will be kids there is no doubt they will learn what we teach them

    monikamanchanda

    February 26, 2010 at 5:24 pm

    • I agree Mon…I really don’t blame the kids as much as i blame the parents for not teaching their child the right thing. And such folks won’t really understand till they get a taste of their own medicine

      supmm

      March 3, 2010 at 10:08 am

  4. Absolutely, you must send him the bill! How irresponsible of the parents to allow their kids to aim at strangers?!

    Pal

    February 26, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    • We did send the bill…the payment is still awaited though 😛

      And I don’t blame the kid as much as I blame the parents for not teaching their child the right thing

      supmm

      March 3, 2010 at 10:07 am

  5. yeah i know its damn irritating….some ppl jus feel its their birth right to do anything and everything that they want to do on holi!! 😐

    Ria

    March 1, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    • Absolutely…they think Holi gives them a license to do what they want

      supmm

      March 3, 2010 at 10:06 am

  6. darling its not just delhi..bbay is bad too…last holi i fired a kid to throwing water balloons.. one hit me and i was in a fit of rage..sadly he dint have any parents to back him up at that time…this year a kid in our building got the brunt of our wrath…he had set up loudspeakers and was telecasting horrid cheapo holi songs to the entire block.that was his way of sharing his happiness.. dont ask me..i dont get it either..

    mandira

    March 2, 2010 at 2:21 pm

    • Gawd that must have been terrible but didn’t anyone else from the building say anything?

      supmm

      March 3, 2010 at 10:06 am


Leave a Reply

