Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

I need a breakkkkkkkkk!!!

with 21 comments

Most of you know I have bene running myself ragged working for the past few months. I have no idea how and when the year 2009 just flew by. I took about 3 weeks off in the whole year, including a week long trip to Cal during the Pujas, two other weeknd trips, a few days at Kasauli and a few other days here and there.

I finished studying in April 2006 and started working from June 2006. I took 3 weeks off for my wedding in April 2007 and resumed work within  ten days of getting married. I have taken infrequent vacations since then and my longest has been the full week I took in September 2009. I work a six days week, and 45 out of 52 weeks a year, a 7 day week. I have been with the same firm since starting my career. Don’t get me wrong, I am not cribbing about my work, cuz I am one of the rare few who gets to do what I enjoy. I have learnt alot in these three and a half years, which had I been elsewhere, I may not have had the oppurtunity to learn so much, to be given so much responsibility or be asked to take on freshers under my wing and train them. I am lucky to have had good bosses, who have screamed at me and also appreciated me. I have been lucky that i have had a good working environment . There have been times when I have ben very frustrated for not receiving due recognition and have almost upped and quit, but my work and my committment to it have held me back.  I don’t know if I can be called a workaholic, but yes I do love my work and it does give me a high.

Three and a half years may not be a very long time in a career, especially for one who has just started, but there has now come a time when I feel I am missing out on life. I haven’t had much chance to spend time with my parents since I got married considering the fact that my mother and me are both working and both of us have limited leave. I find myself getting stressed out which is taking a toll on my health and if this continues, it will adversely affect my relation with my husband which I most certaionly don’t want. After all, he also has a hectic and stressful job and its not fair on him. I have little time to meet my friends and family, I have missed the wedding of one of my closest friends, I miss travelling,I miss having just the time to while away. The Sundays usually go in household chores and catching up on sleep. Quality time with my husband is the time we spend travelling together to and fro work, that too only when he is not travelling.

I want to take abreak for a few months from all this stress and tension. I want the time to simply putter around my house and my kitchen and indulge in long leisurely hours of mindless television. I want to simply be selfish and have some time to myself. However, my issue is do I ask my boss for a sabbatical, but knowing him, he will not approve of the idea. Arjun sugested the idea of taking a couple of weeks off, but then will I get the rest and peace I need, because I will still end up attending official calls. So my only option then is to quit, take a break and then start job hunting after a month or so.

However, having been a DINK couple, we are used to a certain standard of living and off course, both of us have certain financial commitmments. We can manage comfortable for 2-3 months, but if I don’t get a job by then, I will go bonkers and drive myself and everybody else up the wall. I am seriously wanting to go on a break, bnut but am trying to work out the hows and whys of it. I am not mentally prepared to leave where I work,  but frankly, I see little choice. Companies are hiring again, but I am scared – what if I don’t get another job?

Written by SupMM

January 6, 2010 at 5:54 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , ,

21 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. BABEEEEEE… ok! LOVE the new address.. 🙂 Loooks like everyone is changing over to the ‘friendly’ Mr. WordPress.. soo.. Love Love it!

    Oh! n i think the Break should be taken! Why dont u take a sabbatical.. thats like 2 months only types…and that would give u the break and u will feel fresher… 🙂 And why dont u make constant effort to get ur sundays clutter free.. just dont do any work! honestly.. just try… u and the hubby only.. take off! I do that.. so i know being a co-DINK! 🙂

    Hugs! If they work!!!

    PS: plz to be visiting new me http://tanuanand.wordpress.com/ :):)

    tanuanand

    January 6, 2010 at 6:15 pm

    • Hey Tanuuu….long time no see :0

      A 2-3 month sabbatcial would be ideal for me, but I don’t have that option where I currently work, any break without a just medical reason is impossible.

      And trust me, babe I try hard to make my Sundays clutter-free and not work, but its really hard. I would love to just chill on a Sunday, but then I feel guiltyt hat the house is in a mess or the cupboard needs sorting or the kitchen needs to be cleaned or else I end up having some really urgent work 😦

      And will drop by soon at your new WP address…welcome to WP babez 🙂

      supmm

      January 6, 2010 at 6:44 pm

  2. From an HR point of view: Resigning and then looking for a job works out for probably 10% of people. For the first thing the nosy Recruitment guy will notice is the ‘break’!
    From a personal point of view, sitting at home without a job is tough. The guilt of being ‘dependent’ gnaws at us!
    But chin up. The market is getting better. There are jobs out there. Wait…I’l sms one option that comes to my mind.

    Meira

    January 6, 2010 at 6:30 pm

    • Yes that’s what other friends in HR also tell me. But tell me, will HR only see the 2 month break, not the fact that I had been working for 3 years continuously and then took a short sabbattical?

      As for the ‘dependant’ part, I can manage for a couple of months, but therefater the big ‘WHAT IF’ is what is scaring me

      And replying to your sms 🙂

      supmm

      January 6, 2010 at 6:41 pm

  3. you need a change in scene. the 2 week thing is sensible. u will get bored after that, given that ur a self confessed workaholic.

    ask ur boss for a month’s leave. people in other countries take long vacations all the time. it’s about time you got to enjoy life.

    🙂 dont care about what he thinks. worry about yourself for a change.

    Aditya

    January 6, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    • I won’t get 2 weeks off…and even if I do get it, I will get so many work-related calls that I will end up returning early. I won;t get the rest and peace I want. Btw I said i don’t think I am a workaholic, I didn’t confess to being one 😛

      As for long vacations, its tough knowing my boss.He doesn’t beleive in vacations or sanctitity of vacations, so if I wannt to come back here, I have to worry about him or else think about quitting 😦

      supmm

      January 6, 2010 at 6:57 pm

  4. i think you should start looking for jobs and once you get something leave this one and join a month later. that is what i did. i was sick and tired of working 6 days a week 14 hours a day but i waited it out and only quit after i got something in hand and i too would have gone mad sitting at home doing nothing. taking a break without a backup isn’t advisable.

    Utopia

    January 6, 2010 at 7:21 pm

    • Yup that’s exactly what everyone is saying…let’s see.Oie when you coming back to the capital?

      supmm

      January 7, 2010 at 9:35 am

  5. 1. talk abt this very very frankly with ur boss, tell him u need a month off and if he doesnt agree
    2.start looking for a job and ask for a month’s break before u join the new one

    dont take a break without having a job until u are like totally desperate

    monikamanchanda

    January 6, 2010 at 8:50 pm

    • 1. Mon, my boss will not agree…he rarely agrees to a week’s leave, forget a month.

      2. This is the suggestion which most ahve given…I guess it makes sense to have something in hand rather than quit and then hunt

      supmm

      January 7, 2010 at 9:43 am

  6. hmm…I can totally understand what u must be undergoing. Hope 2010 brings more love and peace into ur life. *hugs* hope u get all that u desire.

    Ria

    January 6, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    • Thanks so much Ria…I wish that this new year also brings allt hat you desire and much more 🙂

      supmm

      January 7, 2010 at 10:02 am

  7. Supps, you will certainly find another job, but don’t quit right away… just hang in there. Go on a sabbatical or something. Pull along, buddy. Blog more, watch more movies, shop more 😉

    Pal

    January 7, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    • trying hard Pal…there are days when i’m so fed up that I just walk into my boss’s chambers and say “I don’t feel like wokring anymore. I want a break”

      supmm

      January 12, 2010 at 12:45 pm

  8. Dude!! Take a sabbatical in a tropical island or something. That way you can come back to doing the same stuff at the same place after a good break!!

    I know its not easy. But I have seen it work.

    rayparoma

    January 7, 2010 at 10:45 pm

    • Problem is my boss is definitely not going to give me time off for a sabbatical to do nothing, unless its to go in for my Masters

      supmm

      January 12, 2010 at 12:44 pm

      • oh damn! Masters would entail a lot of work and more stress!!!

        Paroma

        January 12, 2010 at 1:36 pm

        • Absolutely…plus I’m not sure whether I want to even go in for further studies right now

          supmm

          January 12, 2010 at 5:53 pm

  9. have a kit-kat….
    ..:-)

    on a more serious note…. think it thru.. and take a decision… remember… i’m always there!!
    allllll is well

    Arjun

    January 10, 2010 at 12:41 pm

    • Baby, if you weren’t there, I wouldn’t be thinking of taking such a step right now 🙂

      supmm

      January 12, 2010 at 12:44 pm

  10. love it here….welcome to WP. take your break…you’ll always get another job…..people with breaks of 2-5 years have successfully come back to the workforce, i took a year break and am back and nothing much has changed…yes i did loose a year but that’s ok..i gained a lot more…….or don’t quit yet…search for another job first, negotiate a 1 1/2 month later joining date, pay off your notice period at your current company and enjoy 1 1/2 months at home or vacationing. it won’t be the 3 months or so you want but it’s something 🙂

    you took just 10 days off for your wedding??? I took a 25 days off 🙂 LOL

    Just call me 'A'

    January 13, 2010 at 12:54 pm


Leave a Reply

