Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Made-up!!!!!

with 15 comments

No, Arjun and me did not have a fight to begin with.

Just that the firm with which I work has been merged with another firm.

One of our major worries is that we’r the most unconcerned office folks ever. The only make-up which we do use on a regular basis – sunscreen, kajal & lipgloss (if we’r going for a meeting). We just about manage to keep ourselves looking presentable. We’r not shabby, but we’r not really particular about our dressing. We ask each other what’s the ocassion if someone wears something new. Most people in corporate firms are very tip-top – the warpaint & the blow-dried hair & the 4 inch heels – the works basically.

We were just having a major roundtable discussion on how we will need to hold our own with our new colleagues, which means getting up an hour earlier to don the warpaint & blowdry the hair (whatever little I have left). I need to dig out the old stuff which I had bought/ got during my marriage. Arjun wants to know what goop I’v put on my face on the red-letter day that I do wear any.  Aiiyyyooo…I’l need to learn how to start applying eye-liner & masacara and other stuff which I barely know about. Hellppppppp!!!!!!!!

Written by SupMM

October 8, 2009 at 3:29 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with

15 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. haha. i know, it’s a bit disorienting when take overs/mergers happen. have fun!!

    Fun???? We’r contemplatng asking for a clothing and make-up allowance from now 😛

    mumbaireviews

    October 8, 2009 at 5:51 pm

  2. heheheh yes this can be a major issue and spending 30 mins every morning when you could be sleeping is really bad :(.

    When I was in India I used to make an effort about my appearance and used to have lipstick and a lil make up on all the time. Here in the US , I go to school in my bathroom chappals 🙂

    Btw blogrolling you:)

    Hey Prashanti, welcome to my blog and thanks for blogrolling me 🙂

    I used to turn up for my classes in my bathroom slippers too cuz we used to have classes at 7 am. I’d urn up in jeans & sweatshirt, sandwich in hand and taking notes wih the other.

    The joke in symbi (main campus) would be that you could always make out who was from which college (since we had quite a few colleges in the main campus). The most dressed up ones would be from Arts & Commerce, the kids were in junior college, the jhola bags were from Mass com, the formally dressed ones were in MBA and the rest were doign Law :p

    Prashanti

    October 8, 2009 at 9:09 pm

  3. Join the club! make-up remains a mystery to me as well 😀

    We’r wondering whether to call some tutor to teach us the tricks of the trade and open up Pandora’s box :p

    DewdropDream

    October 9, 2009 at 2:18 pm

  4. tee hee hee! I started using them when one day , 3 months after the wedding, I realized that I had used my ‘khoon-paseene ka paisa’ to buy them mascara and liner and that they were attracting only dust, not the suggested appreciation from husband. I am known to walk into office with one liner thicker than the other. I call it a ‘trend’ 😀

    I can’t even use the liner…i get it all over my face except where its supposed to be. Kudos that you at least manage to get it at the correct place :p

    Meira

    October 9, 2009 at 5:01 pm

  5. Remembering the hoopla in the office when a male colleague straightened his hair ….. enjoy the merger:)))

    Welcome to my blog…hoping to see you around more often now.

    Wow…now that would take guts on his part. If we even get a haircut, we get a whole bunch of reactions, so it must have been worse for your pooor colleague.

    Pins N Ashes

    October 12, 2009 at 10:30 am

  6. Ah. This reminds me of my first job in a very prim and propah PR firm. I would show up just about wearing kajal by way of make up. My immediate boss would make all these subtle comments about how I should wear lipstick and eyeliner and earrings, I looked soo nice when I did. I of course did not get it so she finally told me to put make up on every morning and retouch my lipstick through the day and what not. I didnt last too long in that office.

    Sounds like a scary boss at least as far as I am concerned. I’m goign to formulate a standard reply of my skin being extremely sensitive and having severe reactions to all kinds of make up 😛

    Ron

    October 12, 2009 at 5:53 pm

  7. talk abt make-up….for me its jus compact and kohl. anything more than that makes me feel like a drama artist. 😛 All the best for the make up. 😛

    Hey Ria 🙂

    I use just kajal for work, though I don’t mind using makeup on other occassions, but for work an over madeup face I think just looks like you said – a drama artist 🙂

    Ria

    October 12, 2009 at 11:10 pm

  8. I make do with kajal at work. Gawd I can’t imagine using anything more than that.:-)

    Me neither 🙂

    utopia

    October 14, 2009 at 4:32 pm

  9. Aww here I come! Wonder where and how I lost ur Url girl and dint help that ur name ws nt linked to this in any of the comment sections 😛 Finally, found it Phew!
    Even left u a comment asking for the url on someone’s blog 😉 IHM’s I think 😉

    Nyways, off to read the post nw 😉

    Hey Swaram…welcome here 🙂

    And you launched a manhunt for me???????? That’s so sweet. Thank you 🙂

    Swaram

    October 14, 2009 at 5:46 pm

  10. Muscara yes 😛 Eye-liner, me nt gud @ it too 😉 Use it most of the times in place of a bindi 😛

    At least you use it. Mine must hvae dried up by now and needs to be cremated 😛

    Swaram

    October 14, 2009 at 5:49 pm

  11. I use eye pencil and some light lipstick or lip gloss. Freshly washed and dried hair is the best! If you want to look dressy, add thicker eye pencil and glossier gloss/lipstick, and hair left loose.

    Eye shadows and rouge suit very few Indian skin tones… I feel a clear skin looks much better, so perhaps some light foundation.

    IHM, I only use kajal and lip gloss for daily wear. A clear and glowing skin & freshly washed and neat hair I think looks the best. Don’t know about the heair, but my skin , touchwood is decent enough 🙂

    Indian Homemaker

    October 19, 2009 at 4:43 pm

  12. lol! I hate makeup…just eyeliner will do 🙂

    I can’t manage eyeliner at all.Its never an even line in my case which is why I stick to kajal 😛

    Keshi

    October 20, 2009 at 5:12 am

  13. See,when everybody overdresses you should underplay it.that’s my excuse!!1 🙂
    but i am sure no financial paper has taken into account this angle of an M&A. Atleast I didnt when I analysed MnA s 🙂

    lostonthestreet

    October 21, 2009 at 11:02 am

  14. Until I came to Mumbai for my first job I didn’t even know what make up was
    Any cream (used to change from time to time) and ponds (or cuticura) talcum powder – that’s it

    In Mumbai even my maid used to wear make-up and my roomies and colleagues started giving subtle hints and I started wearing lipstick
    Now older and wiser and in US where every one is so prim and proper all the time
    Now it is moisturizer, foundation (which has SPF in it 2-in-1 😉 ), compact, lipstick and mascara
    Takes only 5 mins …

    Am so clumsy when it comes to eyeliner
    It becomes more of an eye shadow !!!

    When u learn the tricks – do share the tips with us

    Anamika

    October 22, 2009 at 12:01 am

  15. LOL! Very funny! Wish I could find a job at your workplace. Sounds like a fun place to go to 🙂

    Pallavi

    October 26, 2009 at 9:30 pm


Leave a Reply

