Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Of Honesty with your Work & Other Tales

with 6 comments

One thing my parents always told me is to be honest with my work – whether it was studies or doing my chores around the house or anything else that I did. This was the first thing which I was told on my first day of my first internship as well by my then mentor. He told me that if I was not honest with my work, it would show and I would be the ultimate loser.

Don’t cut corners so that you can leave ten minutes early. Go the extra mile. Study the file completely. Make your own reference notes. Take a coffee break when you need to but don’t stretch it too long when you have work piled up on your table. Whethere its research or drafting, check it completely before you give it in. Know your file. Be sure of the facts. Know the dates. Don’t hesitate to clarify if your unsure about something. Eat up the client’s head if you need to – that’s what he’s paying you for. Think out of the box but back it up with logic & law. Read up the latest judgements/ noifications/ amendments. When you fail to do this, it reflects on your work. Present you facts clearly. Pay attention to the details. No work is too big or too small. Do things one step at a time – read the facts, do the researcg, check the latest updates, draft, vet it, settle the draft. Be proud of your work.

I learnt this during my internships & later, when I stepped out of college and began my career with the bar. It has always stood me in good stead.  This is something I also tell my juniors. Abd when someone is no honest with their work, I fail to understand why. It shocks me (And I’m not talking about ass-lickers here – just people who’r plain and simple lazy to do their work). Maybe I’m just old-fashioned, because I am informed that this is how it works today. I refuse to accept that – it never worked that way yesterday, and it won’t work like that tomorrow.

On a more pleasant note. I had a good mid-week break (Friday), a working Saturday and a lazy Sunday. Friday, I met Meira. She’d come home for dinner – we had some good girl talk and dinner. And she said i’m an awesome cook & I have a lovely house too – Thanks Meira : )

Saturday was a usual working day, though we did go for a leisurely office lunch.

Sunday night, we did a potluck dinner with friends where thir little soon licked up all the ketchup with his finger and had ketchup all over himself and elsewhere as well 😛

Monday morning – work as usual.

Written by SupMM

October 6, 2009 at 3:36 pm

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Me first! me first!

    Pal, you get the gold medal for being first :p

    Good ethics there…about going that extra mile. Tis true…short cuts only give short-term results!

    Absolutely…and its soemthing some people will only learn the hard way.

    About your culinary skills and your apartment..post pics pliss!

    I’l get Arjun to take some good photos when our house is all clean and spruced up :p

    Regarding the technicalities of WP..sigh..even I’m trying to figure it out. As to font size, I guess it entirely depends on the THEME you have chosen. So you could probably try to change your theme and get something different. OR , write in Word and copy-paste into your NEW POST tab. As for the PAGES, I guess that also depends on the theme you have chosen. And what else? Hmmm..mail me 🙂

    Yup…I’m still figuring it out myself. The posts which were imported from Blogger are in a really small font size as are the links etc. on the sidebar. Posts made directly on WP have a proper font size. Guess I’l get the hang of it in a while. And I’l mail ya soon 🙂

    Pal

    October 6, 2009 at 5:06 pm

  2. 🙂

    🙂

    Meira

    October 6, 2009 at 5:09 pm

  3. These lazy people don’t get on too well in life. That’s when we get our sweet revenge.

    Wooohoooaaaa….
    *evil laughter as I pucture the revenge*

    Meira

    October 6, 2009 at 5:13 pm

  4. That was a sweet post. Yeah one thing that i can never do is to be shrewd and diplomatic. I am just too straight forward.

    Ria…you and me are not made for this zaalim duniya 😛

    Ria

    October 6, 2009 at 6:01 pm

  5. hopped over here from Meira’s blog :-)…

    that is so true, what your parents told you…being lazy and not doing things honestly won’t really get us anywhere..nice post, supmm..

    will keep visiting this space for more..

    Welcome Titaxy…and thanks. Hope to see your around more often 🙂

    I have myself learnt now that hard work will always pay off and people who take shortcuts will learn the hardway, that its the wrong way

    Titaxy

    October 6, 2009 at 10:07 pm

  6. I think honesty combined with the wonderful tips you were given always works. I am never able to understand how some people can be indifferent to their work… they are definitely in the wrong job and everybody else pays for that!

    All those tips even sounded inspiring and motivating!! Reminded me of a book I recently picked up by Sidney Sheldon, “If tomorrow comes” – I only read the first fifty pages but it was all about a brilliant, pretty, sincere, young lawyer 🙂

    Indian Homemaker

    October 19, 2009 at 4:56 pm


Leave a Reply

