Title Intentionally Left Blank

Friend.Chocoholic.Tantrum-thrower.Child.Woman.Whatever !!!!!!!!

Abhi to Main Jawaan Hoon

with 34 comments

 
I feel soooooooo old. Its  a bad bad thing when your the eldest among all cousins and the rest are all just about starting college and most are still in school. I feel soooo old when my 7 year old cousin asked me if I was born when ‘Yeh kaali kaali aankhen’ was around and when I replied in the affirmative, he looked so shocked.
 
 
 Another little kiddo is soon going to hostel and he tells me they have washing machines and tea/coffee vending machines in their hostel so he does not need to learn how to wash clothes or make chai/coffee/maggi and then tells me ‘Didi, aajkal hostels are also well-equipped, not pre-hisoric like when you stayed that you had no washing machine.
 
Prehistoric? And I was in hostel in 2001.
 
Another of my friends got asked by her 10 year old brother to help him with his school project and proceeded to instuct her on this wonderful site called ‘Wikipedia’. Simply type in what you want and you get everything. No need to look through 20 books to make a ten page project.
 
 
We still have a few years to go before we see the big ‘Three-Oh’.
 
 
Abhi to main jawaan hoon.
Written by SupMM

July 21, 2009 at 7:08 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with , ,

34 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. hahahh! so true. we are getting ancient by the day. washing machines and wi-fi enabled hostels. can you imagine? we never had those luxuries and lived like paupers oh so happily hehe!

    Utopia

    July 21, 2009 at 7:34 am

  2. ha ha ha

    i understand its the same with me… i am the eldest in all the cousins and most of the younger ones still in school/college…its funny to observe their FB status 🙂

    Monika

    July 21, 2009 at 7:49 am

  3. LOL…
    All of my nieces and nephews are on FB/orkut. Did not know what social networking is all about at their age !! no ?

    BlueMist

    July 21, 2009 at 8:25 am

  4. Yes. Sigh. I know exactly what you mean. My 12 year old cousin was so impressed to hear I know of Hannah Montana and Miley Cyrus. My 18 year old sister could'nt believe her eyes when she found old pictures of me sporting black nailpolish 😦

    Ron

    July 21, 2009 at 9:33 am

  5. v r not tat old come on! but true wen v start counting d years wen Baazigar was released u do feel OMG so many years have passed by.These kids r lot more smarter than us.

    Pallavi

    July 21, 2009 at 2:00 pm

  6. lol!! kids!! well im 17 😛 but i was born before ddlj was released
    😛
    does that make me old?

    magar, the point is ki tum dil se jawan ho. right?

    ♪♪HARINI♪♪

    July 21, 2009 at 4:25 pm

  7. ha ha!!good one sweets. And dont remind me abt my age. 😦 *sob sob* I feel old too when i see college students hanging out doing nothing.

    Ria

    July 21, 2009 at 5:10 pm

  8. LOL very true!

    Kids these days dun hv to make any extra effort to research on anything at all..it's all on the net!!!

    I feel VERY OLD too!

    Keshi.

    Keshi

    July 22, 2009 at 2:12 am

  9. And I hv nieces and nephews who r on Blogger/FB etc etc it's getting net-claustrophobic over here!

    Keshi.

    Keshi

    July 22, 2009 at 2:13 am

  10. Haven't quite experienced this YET, but I'm sure pretty soon I will.

    I think its because sometimes my brother acts more matured than me at times..so its pretty difficult to tell who's the older one and who's the younger one! 😛

    Miss M

    July 22, 2009 at 5:59 am

  11. straight from the heart, kiddo… my engineering hostel was positively stone age. although the symbi hostels were nice. 🙂

    my baby cousin had figured out flash games and knows what ok and cancel mean.

    Aditya

    July 22, 2009 at 10:15 am

  12. on the flipside –

    myparentsjoinedfacebook.com

    Aditya

    July 22, 2009 at 10:16 am

  13. tangy , ehh !
    This feeling of "feeling old" is terrible 😀

    Fallen Angel

    July 22, 2009 at 10:21 am

  14. A person is as old as she/he thinks

    And a traveller said – an ounce of experience is heavier than tons of bookish knowledge.
    Cheers !!!

    Hobo ........ ........ ........

    July 22, 2009 at 11:45 am

  15. if you're prehistoric… then i'm from beyond the age of the dinos

    Arjun

    July 22, 2009 at 2:07 pm

  16. @ Utopia

    I agree…we'r so ancient. Kids these days take all thsi for granted.They have cells in school while I got mine only in 3rdyear when my mom finally deemed t necessary for me to have one

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 4:58 am

  17. @ Monika

    Ya I know…but good thing is I give them gyan on boze & guys/ girls & jazz and they take it from, but not from their parents

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 4:58 am

  18. @ BlueMist

    When I was in school, socila networking was about enjoying a game of basketball every evening with he other kids in the colony and borrowing books 😛

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 4:59 am

  19. @ Ron

    You know when my mom told me some stories from her college days, I could hardly beleive it, but now I know how she fel when I tell my younger cousins this same thing. They refuse to belive that I could have ever got on a table top at a pub with my other girl friends and danced on 'Girls just wanna have fun' 😛

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 5:01 am

  20. @ Pallavi

    Having edited a chidlren's section n TOI for a year, ou would be knwoing even better than me about this 🙂

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 5:02 am

  21. @ Harini

    Absoluteluy…dil se to hum jawan hain hi.

    'Ahi to main jawaan hon' 😛

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 5:05 am

  22. @ Ria

    Yeah I know…college life was like a paid vacation I think. We did our amout of work but we also had our fair share of fun.

    But as I recall the college admission was not such a big deal as it is made out today

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 5:06 am

  23. @ Keshi

    Yup the kids these days all get i served to them on a platter.

    I see that even more now. I passed out of college in 2006. In 3 years, I see a vast difference in the research skills of students today cuz they all open up ten site son the net and look it up while we still prefer to check the books first and then the net.

    As for over-crowding on FB, luckily my younger'uns haven't censored stuff from me yet and neither have we hidden anything from them, so its good when I need to give them some tips on how to handle booze and guys and stuff

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 5:11 am

  24. @ Miss M

    Good for you then tht this hasn't happened to you yet…your going to get a 'zor ka jhatka' when you suddenyl feel old one monring 😛

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 5:12 am

  25. @ Adi

    You and me are in the same league 'Uncle'. I shall give you due respect bhai, after you are 3 years older than me 😛

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 5:13 am

  26. @ Fallen Angel

    Hey welcome to my blog and thanks for commentng…yup this was straight from the heart. Considering I still ahve sometime before I hit 30, I feel old since for most of my cousins 21 is still sometime away 😛

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 5:14 am

  27. @ Hobo

    Don't worry, I make good use of all my ounces of experience. I ahve given tips to the younger ones on how t handle booze & ragging and whatnot 😛

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 5:15 am

  28. @ Arjun

    Yup we'r the Adam & Eve I think on my side of the family in our generation 😛

    SMM

    July 23, 2009 at 5:16 am

  29. OMG, this was hilarious! Despite the fact that it made me feel quite ancient!! Washing machine, Coffee vending machine! Where did the Bai and Tapri chai disappear? Sigh! I miss my college days!!!

    writerzblock

    July 27, 2009 at 12:56 pm

  30. I graduated in 2001, the year my hostel days got over. Now you make me feel so old 😦

    D

    July 30, 2009 at 8:38 am

  31. if u are pre historic then so am i!!! psst- i too was in the hostel in 2001… n i was washing my own clothes and cooking my own maggi..btw, im the eldest on the dad's side.. but the mother's side saves me! hehe!!

    churningthewordmill

    July 30, 2009 at 5:28 pm

  32. Hahaha

    times have changed so fast

    Work from home

    workhard

    August 5, 2009 at 6:54 pm

  33. hey SMM I wrote that VERY LONG version of that letter too lol! 🙂

    Keshi.

    Keshi

    August 6, 2009 at 5:52 am

  34. awesome post!

    partywithneha

    August 6, 2009 at 7:47 am


Leave a Reply

